Reviews

What people are saying about The Wye Valley Hotel




Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel set in the beautiful Wye valley.Barry and Sue were terrific hosts.The rooms are very clean,classic and comfortable.Cant wait until next visit.

Reviewer:Pat H | Fri 20th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


very pleasant - Rating 5/5

great location, very friendly staff, lovely room, bar,and great breakfast, will surely be returning in the summer.

Reviewer:john s | Fri 13th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Comfortable, friendly, family run hotel - Rating 5/5

The Wye Valley is a comfortable, friendly,family run hotel which provides excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Christine S | Tue 10th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay

Reviewer:Andrew T | Mon 30th Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 4/5

We had a very enjoyable weekend at the Wye, comfortable warm with good food and exellently kept beer, the staff and management could not have been more helpful, thanks very much.

Reviewer:Gwynne J | Mon 9th Dec 2019 | 5 months ago


Everything was great! - Rating 5/5

Barry and Sue are great hosts, very welcoming and lovely touches like home made biscuits in our room and cake and coffee on arrival in the bar. The room was well fitted, very clean and warm, lovely large comfy bed. We had dinner which we thought was excellent (Steak pie and gammon), good portion of interesting veg, served in the bar which was busy but still excellent service.We only stayed one night on our return to Devon but would definitely come again.Only 15 mins walk down to Tintern Abbey and several walks nearby which we were unable to do due to recent wet weather. Recommended!!

Reviewer:M | Sun 17th Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent in all respects. Could have been noisy because a) it's on the road, and b) the dining room was being refurbished, but double glazing and sensible hours dealt with both of those

Reviewer:Catherine L | Fri 8th Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent location and hospitality- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome from Barry andSue, terrific welsh breakfast, evening mealsfreshly made, stayed for 3 nights and ate there for 2 nights, my husband says a good selection of beers is kept here.Goodlocation for Chepstow races, a bus stops outside hotel. No lift at hotel but don’t let that put you off, all rooms on first floor. We will definitely stay here again

Reviewer:Mr R | Thu 7th Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Sadly I only had the time to stay at the hotel for one night while exploring Tintern. What a wonderful, charming and friendly hotel. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff friendly, cheerful and helpful. I had dinner which was excellent as was breakfast. I recommend this hotel, particularly as a base to explore the area and I will return.

Reviewer:Mr David C | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


J.E.H. - Rating 5/5

Welcoming,courteous,stylish,accomodating.BEDROOMS-Hygienic and very comfortable.DINING ROOM--Breakfast-excellent choice . BAR FOOD-plenty of variety . BAR SERVICE-attentive .Hotel -suitable for all ages .

Reviewer:Mrs. Joy H | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


jeffery - Rating 5/5

excellent stay as always lovely rooms great food great hosts sue &barry

Reviewer:Stephen J | Tue 15th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Simply Splendid - Rating 5/5

I've posted a 5-star review on TripAdvisor.My wife and I have stayed in countless hotels in England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, and we can't remember any in which we felt so welcome, relaxed and more "at home"from the moment we checked in.There's usually something we don't like about a hotel (even though we're not ones to complain without good reason).Nothing about the "Wye Valley Hotel"was disappointing. Given the price we paid, the hotel was certainly "value for money".I couldn't have chosen a better hotel at which to celebrate our 41st Wedding Anniversary.Sue's cooking is fabulous. Very tasty breakfasts (using locally sourced lean bacon and "real"sausages). I love poached eggs, and Sue cooks them to perfection.In the evening too, Sue's beef and stilton pie with melt-in-the-mouth shortcrust pasty, was delicious, accompanied by Sue's crispy "hand made"chips. (I could continue praising in detail each meal we had).Thank you Barry and Sue for helping to make our Wedding Anniversary special and memorable. Hope to see you next year maybe, all being well.

Reviewer:Bernard S | Fri 4th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Second Stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at the Wye Valley Hotel, and for good reason.The attention that you receive from Barry and Sue is spot on.We were travelling with my elderly gran of 96 and she was made to feel like an old friend returning and nothing was too much trouble.Needless to say we will be return next spring / summer for another visit to this beautiful area.

Reviewer:Andy G | Tue 1st Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We again visited The Wye Valley Hotel for our annual visit to the Speedway GP in Cardiff. The hotel is perfectly situated for walks in the valley and there are numerous nearby places to visit. Accommodation and food excellent as are the proprietors Barry and Sue along with other members of staff. We would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry M | Tue 24th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Heaven on earth - Rating 5/5

Loved this wonderful hotel beautiful hotel wonderful food great staff Barry and Sue the best hostsloved everything just didnt want to leave

Reviewer:Elizabeth H | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Room 8 excellent.food good choice and well cooked and presented.plenty of private on site parking.very helpful staff.

Reviewer:Mike T | Sat 21st Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


very pleasent stay. - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night en-route to west wales,but would have willingly stayed longer.Every aspect of the hotel was excellant! Lovely location,great food,spotlessly clean,comfortable and welcoming and attentive staff.We will certainly return.

Reviewer:Malcolm G | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Our stay at The wye valley hotel - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay room and facilities very good andfriendly hosts would certainly stay again

Reviewer:Mr S | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


A Delightful Stay - Rating 5/5

Thanks for a very enjoyable week at your hotel, ideally located for exploring the Wye Valley. Hosts were very obliging and helpful. The staff were friendly and efficient. We recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere in the Wye Valley.

Reviewer:Mr Trevor J | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome, comfortable room, nice meals, nothing was too much trouble - great relaxing break.

Reviewer:Barry M | Tue 10th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Wonderful hotel in beautiful location- Rating 5/5

We have used this hotel for the last 4 years to break our journey from Manchester to Cornwall. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable while keeping with the character of the hotel. Food and service are excellent,which reflects the standards of this amazing, efficiently familly run hotel.

Reviewer:W. W | Sat 7th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Lovely, friendly hotel perfect for a relaxing weekend - Rating 5/5

A nice welcome. Lovely staff who were very attentive. Very comfy beds. Nicely decorated rooms. Great facilities. Relaxing bar and great food.

Reviewer:Rachel W | Tue 3rd Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Beautiful setting, friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

We loved staying at the Wye Valley Hotel. The proprierters were very informative and helpful. Room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. The shortbread biscuits were a nice touch. We ate at the hotel both evenings in the bar. The food was very hearty and tasted delicious. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and recommend this place highly.

Reviewer:Geoffrey P | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Home from home. - Rating 5/5

I've just enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay, very clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast and fantastic location, I'll be back soon !Sara.

Reviewer:Sara R | Sat 24th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely stay!- Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic time here.Excellent customer service.Lovely food and Welsh ale.

Reviewer:Lisa D | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Break at Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

Clean, tidy and good service and food. Cannot fault it.

Reviewer:Matthew C | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Short break August 2019 - Rating 5/5

4th visit. Consistently very well run and comfortable hotel. Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Food always freshly cooked and local beers available. Will certainly visit again. Good value for money.

Reviewer:E G | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Great experience - Rating 5/5

Really nice place. Great owners and staff. Really good food. We had great time. We will be going back again.

Reviewer:Adam K | Tue 13th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


1 weeks stay 1st to the 8th August - Rating 4/5

stayed in the long stay room very spacious and clean good food great hosts

Reviewer:Mr B | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


2 adults - Rating 4/5

We both enjoyed our stay at the Wye Valley Hotel.Our two dogs appreciated the varied walks!

Reviewer:Miss Anne H | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Tranquil setting and friendly atmosphere- Rating 3/5

Beautiful location near Tintern in the middle of the Wye Valley. Our room was at the rear with a view over the car park, but we found it comfortable with a large en suite and facilities for tea and coffee making. Barry and Sue were friendly and welcoming and there was a wide range of choices on the breakfast menu, including fresh fruit. We spent an enjoyable and restful few days there and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful spot with plenty of walking opportunities.

Reviewer:Roger N | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 4/5

I very friendly welcome to be found here. Good Food, good Beer and comfortable rooms

Reviewer:Mr R | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Friendly hotel with great food - Rating 5/5

This is in a lovely setting in Tintern and is a friendly family run hotel which is comfortable.Great food served and amazing breakfast.

Reviewer:Terence L | Wed 31st Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


4 night stay - Rating 5/5

Thankyou for a great stay. We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel andwere made welcome.See you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr R M | Sun 28th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


wye valley hotel - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcoming, clean, great food, great beer! Felt safe and relaxed able to come and go as i please, lots of character will definirely stay again

Reviewer:David E | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


A Great Place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Food was good, young Lady served us at dinner was Great &hospitable, bar toilets spotless! The Gentleman owner was very helpful &informative and of course The Lady owner, but it was the man I spoke to mostly,we were so lucky to find such a Lovely place to stay!!Brilliant! Many Thanks to All the Staff,the cleaners and chef all worked as a team!

Reviewer:Roy T | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Their place was easy to find and in a great location. The lady behind the bar was friendly polite and very helpful. The room was clean and of a good size . Breakfast was very good with local butter , sausage and bacon. Plus gluten free options. Could not fault anything

Reviewer:June G | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Satisfaction - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed my stay at at this hotel excellent food &friendly atmosphere.

Reviewer:Margaret H | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Very friendly owners, comfortable, clean with good bar food. - Rating 5/5

Impressed with helpfulness and friendliness of owners. Rooms clean and comfortable, felt well rested after a good night's sleep. Bar food good and breakfast very filling with owner willing to accommodate individual choices.

Reviewer:Jean M | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


What a wonderful break - Rating 5/5

This is the first time that I have stayed at the Wye Valley Hotel for pleasure, I usually stay here when I'm away on business.This time I was staying with my husband, Tim, on a short break before the Harvest on our farm. We had a lovely, warm welcome from Sue and Barry and enjoyed their wonderful hospitality throughout our stay.Our room was newly decorated and beautifully appointed with excellent facilities and a large comfortable bed.The breakfast is outstanding and for those people who love their cooked breakfast you wont be disappointed. There is a great lunch and evening menu too.All in all we had a wonderful break and are looking forward to returning during the Autumn to visit the Wye Valley again.

Reviewer:Claire L | Tue 9th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Excellent location & accommodation - Rating 5/5

The hotel has an excellent situation and presence when entering Tintern down the Wye valley route from Monmouth. The room accommodation, which has been beautifully refurbished, is of a very high standard. The bar and restaurant area is very welcoming with friendly staff in attendance. There is also a dining room for serving breakfast which is full of character, reflecting the history of the building. The menu and food service for all meals was high quality.

Reviewer:Mr C | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed overnight in this wonderful hotel. Enjoyed an evening meal in the bar area which was excellent.

Reviewer:David M | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Good visit- Rating 5/5

The reason we chose The Wye Valley Hotel was because I wanted to visit Stella Books just down the road. It turned to be a great choice. Really nice staff, good food in a lovely area and would like to return in the future.

Reviewer:John S | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

We had a very enjoyable stay. Food was very good, staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:EVELYN M | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Smashing - Rating 5/5

Very clean and homely.Warm and friendly staff. Very reasonably priced.Would recommend anyone to stay here.

Reviewer:Christine S | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

Everything about this hotel was geared to ensuring comfort. The staff and owners were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was spotless. The food was excellentllent. All this in a wonderful setting

Reviewer:Elizabeth M | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely break- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, staff very efficient and friendly, beautiful scenery, overall a great place.

Reviewer:Miss S B | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Well located and welcoming small hotel - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, well managed and well positioned small hotel in a beautiful location. Pleasant,obliging young staff in the bar and the restaurant. Good portions of food at breakfast and dinner. Our room had completely bare walls and could have benefitted from at least one painting!

Reviewer:Peter J S | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Everythin was good - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Wye Valley Hotel, and found rthe staff very pleasant.We would certainly stay there again

Reviewer:Allan J | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


two day in peace. - Rating 5/5

Friendly clean and quiet, just what we wanted.

Reviewer:Mr John C | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Great expectations- Rating 5/5

I had read one or two reviews before selecting this hotel. which were positive. I had great expectations which were fully realised.Very comfortable and clean, proprietors and staff friendly. The food is good, the menu is limited, beinggood pub food but what had was excellently prepared and very tasty showing the care and attention that had obviously been tendered by the chef. Breakfast was also very good indeed.Although I was there alone, I was given a double en-suite room which had all fixtures and fittings that were anticipated. Also, I did not feel alone in the friendly and happy atmosphere of the hotel. Would I stay there again - of course and I would recommend it over and above the many stuffy 4 &5 star hotels I’ve been accustomed to in my previous working life.

Reviewer:Mr Trevor M | Fri 7th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Thank you - Rating 4/5

For a friendly comfortable stay.Good food too!My only little ‘complaints’ are out of your control.The road outside can be quite noisy but this time it wasn’t becuase of the traffic diversion! And sometimes the firedoor outside the bedroom doors slams shut.

Reviewer:Mrs H | Fri 7th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Friendly service - Rating 4/5

The hotel is well located and comfortable. We were well looked after and very satisfied.

Reviewer:Ian M | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Great few days - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our 2 night stay. Room was comfortable and modern. Food was good. Will stay again

Reviewer:Martyn V | Wed 5th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


A short break in the sun - Rating 5/5

Very nice and clean hotel.Food very nice in the bar and at breakfast. Wi fi good and ample parking. All the staff were excellent and very friendly.would highly recommend and will return

Reviewer:Christopher L | Tue 28th May 2019 | 12 months ago


A bank holiday stay at the Wye Hotel - Rating 5/5

We arrived at the Wye Hotel on Friday 24th May and received a warm welcome. The bar was relaxed and friendly for an evening drink with my sister and her partner who we were meeting for the weekend.The rooms were light, spacious and comfortable and the whole hotel had a relaxing atmosphere that led to a very good weekend stay.The breakfasts and evening meals were also excellent.The staff were all friendly, helpful and shared good local knowledge. We will be very happy to return.Louise and Rob,Exeter

Reviewer:Louise P | Tue 28th May 2019 | 12 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant overnight stay and surprisingly quiet for a main road location. Good size room and bed. High standard of food except for undercooked duck but the cost of this was cancelled. Staff also very pleasant and we're happy to chat to our small party. Would stay again if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr W | Fri 24th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay in the Wye Valley - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a great stay in the Wye Valley, staying at Sue and Barry’s Wye Valley hotel, meeting up with some old friends. The service was great and the food even better. Barry helped us to chose some great walks and both hosts were friendly and very helpful.

Reviewer:Ben K | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great 2 day stay- Rating 5/5

Must recommend this hotel the owners are very nice people made us feel welcome. and the hotel and food was fantastic. Will definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Michael John W | Mon 20th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Outstanding Hotel - Rating 5/5

An excellent 7 day stay in this extremely well appointed hotel. The hosts were friendly and professionally efficient with well chosen staff.The food and general ambience were of a high quality and every attention was made to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Reviewer:Neville N | Sun 19th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Short break in the Wye Valley - Rating 5/5

Really comfortable, relaxing, spotless and great food! What more could a traveller ask for? Barry and Sue are truly excellent hosts

Reviewer:John M | Tue 14th May 2019 | 1 year ago


GOOD HOTEL - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night only, room was perfect as was the breakfast, good food and plenty of it. Ate at the hotel in the evening, menu had plenty of choice, food was well prepared and tasty and good value. Would use the hotel again.

Reviewer:Mr H | Fri 10th May 2019 | 1 year ago


A Jewel in the heart of Tintern - Rating 5/5

Travelling around the country, auditing Town, Parish and community councils, can be very tiring.One of my highlights is staying at the Wye Valley Hotel when I am auditing locally.I always receive a warm welcome from Barry and Sue, the rooms are very comfortable, well appointed and decorated in a contemporary style, and the breakfast is absolutely lovely.Whether you are travelling on business or you are on holiday, this lovely hotel is a fabulous and friendly location and an excellent hub for visiting the beautiful countryside and the world famous Tintern Abbey.I will be visiting again in late June, this time on holiday with my husband.

Reviewer:Claire L | Sat 4th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Our stay at Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 4/5

Meet expectations, pleasant location and enjoyable breakfast, would stay again.

Reviewer:Angela L | Wed 1st May 2019 | 1 year ago


Comfortable & welcoming - Rating 5/5

At the far end of Tintern, The Wye Valley Hotel offered a warm welcome on a sunny weekend.We were in room 3, a spacious room overlooking the main road, a popular route for cyclists and motorbikes during the day but silent at night.Super clean bathroom with great toiletries, tea and coffee facilities with a small jar of what tasted like homemade shortbread in the room along with a splendidly comfortable bed.Breakfast in the morning offered a good selection including vegetarian alternatives which I didn't sample but the other half very much enjoyed his Wye Valley Breakfast.Would definitely come back.

Reviewer:Helen C | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


return stay - Rating 5/5

as always a very enjoyable stay always made welcome rooms very nicely decorated food and drink exelent

Reviewer:derek k | Fri 12th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely Hotel, great location - Rating 5/5

Great hosts, very welcoming, food fabulous very clean spacious room. Very good value for money. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you Wye Valley Hotel

Reviewer:Julie H | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Peter and Rosemary- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely walking weekend staying in this comfortable traditional hotel. It was very cosy and offered good food, just right after a good days walk.The owners and staff at the hotel made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with planning our walks.We would definitely like to visit this lovely hotel and area again

Reviewer:Mr Peter W | Wed 3rd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Wye valley Hotel- Rating 5/5

Highly recommend this place. Quality of the food/accommodation/the area is fantastic. When returning to this part of Wales will not hesitate to book again!

Reviewer:Andy S | Mon 25th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Recent visit - Rating 5/5

Very warm and friendly welcome, the room was as requested and recently refurbished to a high standard. The Dinner and Breakfast were very satisfactory and competitively priced for the area. Thank you. Joan and Les Davy

Reviewer:Mr D | Tue 19th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Amazing stay - Rating 5/5

Had the most amazing stay in this hotel.From the time that I checked in to the time I checked out nothing was too much trouble.Staff were lovely, room spotless, food was amazing and so was the Stella!!I visited this hotel on a business trip by the time I had checked out I had booked 3 nights away for myself my partner and doggie.Would highly recommend this hotel..

Reviewer:Ann-Marie C | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Fab Stay!! - Rating 5/5

My stay here was amazing, there was many Gluten Free food option, usually I struggle to find meals however there was a variety including Sticky Toffee Pudding. The owners were very accommodating and got up early to make breakfast as I had to leave for a meeting.Great location and Clean rooms!

Reviewer:Alison M | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at the Wye Valley Hotel. The welcome was extremely warm and we felt very much at home. It's a fantastic location to explore the Abbey and go on lots of great walks, with plenty of parking. The food was top notch too - we especially appreciated the excellent gluten free options. Thanks Barrie and Sue!

Reviewer:Katherine S | Sat 22nd Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


One of the best hotels we’ve ever stayed in - Rating 5/5

Could not ask for a more comfortable and friendly place to stay,and the food is just great at very reasonable prices

Reviewer:D K | Fri 2nd Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


great room but reception needs a good tidy up! - Rating 4/5

lovely room, very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, friendly people, some attempt made to give me a breakfast as I had to leave early though rather basic. What did astonish me was the mess behind the reception desk which really lets the hotel down, so simple to rectify too. That's the first impression people get and it's not a good one. I would certainly stay again though, and when I do I hope that area will be tidy and presentable!!

Reviewer:Carole D | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


FEEDBACK - Rating 5/5

Barry and Sue Cooke are a very friendly couple who make you extremely welcome.Food andaccommodation excellent.Very good walks along river direct from hotel, and Tintern Abbey and shops ten minute walk away. This is our second stay.

Reviewer:Mr S | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


FEEDBACK - Rating 5/5

Barry and Sue Cooke are a very friendly couple who make you extremely welcome.Food andaccommodation excellent.Very good walks along river direct from hotel, and Tintern Abbey and shops ten minute walk away. This is our second stay.

Reviewer:Mr S | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Visit - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our short stay and were made to feel welcome. The room was clean and very comfortable and the food was to our liking. Basic but well done. The one observation that we would like to make, not a criticism, is that as a couple in their late dotage we felt that the cut off time for breakfast, I.e. 09.00 is a little early. At our age it takes a little longer to get going.

Reviewer:Mr L | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

Great welcome, large v comfortable , well equipped clean room.

Reviewer:Nina G | Tue 9th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Traditional place full of character - Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Wye valley hotel for two nights B+B, we found our room to be nice and comfortable and warm when needed, the food was very nice with a good choice for both breakfast and evening meal, the bar choice was also good with a nice selection of single malts and beer, we would definitely return for another stay.

Reviewer:Robert P | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Autumn Break - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. The proprietors Barry &Sue were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. The room &food was great and we were fortunate to have chosen a few days away in the Wye Valley when the the weather was warm and sunny. We will go back there again without question!

Reviewer:Jeremy P | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A Good Old-Fashioned Country Hotel - Rating 4/5

If you are searching for a base from which to explore the Wye Valley then look no further.This friendly and welcoming hotel provides comfortable accommodation and good food in a beautiful location.

Reviewer:Peter S | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly & comfortable - Rating 5/5

I found my stay at the Wye Valley Hotel to be altogether excellent. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable, breakfasts individually cooked to order using fresh ingredients, dinners similarly, while the bar boasts a range of malt whiskies and gins plus well kept cask beer. Barry &Sue and their staff are very friendly and approachable and are to be congratulated for the service they provide. I will stay there again if I can.

Reviewer:Mr Bob F | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

We would highly recommend theWye Valley Hotel. We were made to feel very welcome, our room was lovely, comfortable and clean. The food was fantastic.

Reviewer:Mr K | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely flowery building. Great welcome from the proprietors.

Reviewer:Sian T | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great little hotel - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our one night stay. A nice riverside walk is just across the road. We enjoyed our evening meal a d breakfast . The proprietors were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Sian T | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Apologies for saying we had extra VAT added - Rating 5/5

I misread the invoice and we were charged the correct price. I tried to withdraw my previous feedback but was unable toWe had a lovely stay

Reviewer:Sian T | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely food- Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a night and were very happy with everything. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We had our evening meal in the bar and were impressed by the choice on the menu and the quality of our food. Breakfast the next morning was good as well.We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Tintern.

Reviewer:Ann R | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We used this hotel as an overnight stay while travelling from Lancashire to Devon. We will stay longer next time. A clean comfortable room, freandly staff and a great menu of local food. (The wild boar sausages were amazing!)

Reviewer:Vivien M | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


summer get away - Rating 5/5

Lovely location away from the hustle and bustle with amazing sites and views with great walks. Have been back regularly, Hotel and Hosts, Barry and Sue make it home from home with that little bit more. Great restaurant/bar food. Would recommend for all.

Reviewer:Anthony P | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


The Wye Valley Hotel- Rating 5/5

Excellent locally sourced food with a gluten free option..Staff very helpful and courteous.I would return to this hotel when visiting Tintern. Fantastic location for exploring the Wye Valley.

Reviewer:Chris O | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Always a great stay - Rating 5/5

Always a lovely stay at the Wye Valley hotelHave been going to Tintern at least once a year for the last 20 years and tried most hotels there but never a better stay than at the Wye. Good rooms,lovely Breakfast and bar meals and resturant. Barry and Sue have made the charm of this hotel something special. Will be back again for our complete fix of R &R that is Tintern and the Wye.

Reviewer:Sharon V | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay going south and two weeks later going north. - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with a warm atmosphere and most helpful staff.Evening meal very good and lemon meringue roulade is fantastic.If only we had had room for another helping!!! Breakfast was excellent and we hadn't had bacon as good as that for years.

Reviewer:Sue T | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

This was our third stay,the welcome is second to none.Excellent rooms &food/drink.Barry &Sue are excellent hosts,and make you feel special.

Reviewer:Neil D | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Good food- Rating 4/5

Pastry on our pie was excellent and obviously made on the premises. Good local atmosphere in the bar where we ate. Very nice not to have a thick duvet but instead some blankets - we always get too hot while sleeping under hotel duvets so this was great. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs A | Tue 1st May 2018 | 2 years ago


A Jewel in the heart of the Wye Valley- Rating 5/5

I grew up near Tintern, so I wanted to stay there whilst on business in Chepstow.This is a lovely and friendly family hotel with a spacious car park in the heart of the village.I enjoyed a warm welcome with a cup of much needed coffee in the bar and was tt n shown to my beautiful room.I had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were exceptional!I couldn’t recommend a stay here more highly, and I shall be booking a romantic break here form me and my Husband later this year.Lovely!

Reviewer:Claire L | Wed 18th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Dog Friendly!- Rating 5/5

We were turned away from our original hotel as we were travelling with our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel - what a good thing it turned out to be!! The Wye Valley Hotel is comfortable and we enjoyed excellent food and wine in the bar for our evening meal. The room was large and very clean. Breakfast is also plentiful with the ‘full English’ using delicious local produce. We will definitely return!

Reviewer:Alison D | Thu 22nd Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Hotel Review - Rating 5/5

Fantastic hotel with great hosts

Reviewer:Ian M | Sat 24th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


A lovely hidden gem - Rating 5/5

You are welcomed on your arrival by clean fresh bedrooms with a nice selection of herbal and infused teas. The evening meals be it the bar or restaurant are well made and have that home cooked feel about them. The same goes for the hearty breakfasts

Reviewer:Tim L | Fri 15th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfort by the River Wye - Rating 4/5

An excellent hotel - very comfortable room, super food and friendly hosts.If we had a quibble it would be the lack of a power shower.

Reviewer:Malcolm D | Thu 23rd Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. We shall return.

Reviewer:Nick C | Wed 15th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very good food and comfortable bedroom. Warm and welcoming owners.

Reviewer:Mr John S | Wed 27th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Ideally located to tour the wye valley an Monmouth- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable hotel clean and well equipped rooms and we fealt very welcome,the food was excellent and the hosts made us feel like old friends not just paying guests.We would curtainly stay again.

Reviewer:Tony H | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Welcoming with clean and spacious rooms - Rating 5/5

We were welcomed warmly (along with our dog) at the Wye Valley Hotel by the owners.Food was excellent, especially the breakfast, and there were tasty ales on tap.Room was spacious and quiet so we enjoyed a fantastic night's sleep.It was only a short walk to the Abbey and centre of the town.

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


A WARM WELCOME IN A STUNNING PART OF THE WORLD - Rating 5/5

We loved staying at the Wye Valley Hotel- A warm welcome awaits in a most beautiful part of the world. Diolch xx

Reviewer:Cerys M | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Great location- Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome and good comfortable bed, room on the front with view,but could be noisy with the road traffic. Excellent dinner and good breakfast

Reviewer:Diane H | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


2 night break - Rating 5/5

A lovely clean hotel,good food and facilities.Landlords Sue and Barry were most welcoming to their establishment and we are definitely planning to returning for another visit in 2018. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr H | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Stopping off point - Rating 4/5

Homely welcome and excellent location made this ideal for stopping off on the way to Avonmouth. Food good and local walk options lovely. Very enjoyable

Reviewer:Adrian W | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Wye Valley Hotel enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed 3 nights using the location to explore South East Wales, returning late in the afternoons to enjoy a dinner at the hotel's pub. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and with windows shut, one did not hear the occasional traffic in front of the hotel. The included breakfast choice was a range from continental breakfast to full "Wye Valley"(English) breakfast, also very good. Dinner choices in the pub were varied and delicious, service was prompt and conversations with the host or other clients were fun. We would definitely book again the next time in this part of Wales.

Reviewer:John M | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcoming, good food, wi fi , - perfect for me when Icome on my own to this area

Reviewer:Rosaline H | Wed 7th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay,with great food and very pleasant staff.Situated in the best place for a quiet,peaceful break.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr D | Fri 26th May 2017 | 2 years ago


A warm welcome, beautiful food - Rating 5/5

It was lovely to visit the Wye Valley Hotel again. We received a warm welcome from Barry and Sue, who remembered us even though we'd not stayed there for for about 6 years. We were delighted that the food was still exceptional and the welcome just as warm. We will certainly be booking another break with them this year.

Reviewer:Steve & Sue K | Wed 17th May 2017 | 3 years ago


Wedding - Rating 5/5

We were only here one night but were made very welcome but all the staff.Food was very good.

Reviewer:Margaret S | Sun 14th May 2017 | 3 years ago


Warm and welcoming - Rating 4/5

I had kept the number of this small hotel in my phone since my last visit about 5 years ago, following a wonderful stay.returning this month. Ifound it still being run by the same family'If you are looking fora small family run hotel which is welcoming clean and comfortable and serves delicious food aand wonderful beer, then this is for you.r

Reviewer:Suzanne R | Thu 11th May 2017 | 3 years ago


Short stay in the Wye Valley- Rating 5/5

Very relaxed comfortable hotel with friendly hosts. Rooms are well maintained and comfortable. The food is excellent and a well stocked bar with very local beers and wines. Hope to back there very soon.

Reviewer:Dave C | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Spring break in the Wye Valley - Rating 4/5

The Wye Valley Hotel fitted our needs beautifully with a pleasant room and friendly staff.Our elderly dog was made to feel very much at home.Home-cooked food and spacious bar made the evenings comfortable.If we are in the area again we shall certainly consider this small hotel with its lovely setting and walks beside the river. Many thanks

Reviewer:Mr Jerome T | Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at the Wye Valley Hotel with my wife's mother. The welcome we received was exceptional and the service and food were very good indeed. We had a wonderful two night stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Chris E | Fri 7th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


LovelyWeekend - Rating 5/5

We had a great time at the Wye Valley Hotel, the owners and staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome and our stay very enjoyable.The food was excellent and very reasonable priced.The Hotel was situated in the prefect location for exploring both the Abbey and the many walks in the area including Devils Pulpit and is on the Offa Dyke Trail too. Rooms were clean and spacious, especially our suite of rooms, which was excellent.We will definitely be going back soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rebecca E | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Chepstow Races - Rating 5/5

We arrived early prior to check in time but we were checked in without any problems. Owners and staff friendly and helpful. Evening meal and breakfast were excellent.Fully recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewer:Martyn T | Thu 29th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Restful evening in Tintern - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, rooms very comfortable and excellent restaurant. Very good location for relaxing walks through truly amazing countryside. Can not wait to stay again :)

Reviewer:Dave C | Thu 3rd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Hollyday - Rating 4/5

Hi our wisit was realy nice we wont too comeback and we can easy rekomend this place.Nice full english breakfest and nice bar in the old pub.Our room nr3 was realy fine whith kingsize bed and big flatscreen.Two things could be better-Shower pressure to loo,And do the room realy dark!not a problem for us in Oktober but at summer...

Reviewer:Jonas E | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Helped with bags, close to Abbey, nice bar, good food, comfortable bed, quiet, great breakfast. What more do you want?

Reviewer:John A | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Our stay at Wye Valley Hotel- Rating 5/5

Wonderful hosts.Lovely comfortable room. Great meal in the var/restuarant and great breakfast. All grilled too. Beautuful surroundings.Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Ronald C | Wed 26th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Home from Home - but without the chores! - Rating 5/5

After an "odd"hotel stay we wanted to go where we KNEW the food was good and the welcome was warm.Luckily the Wye Valley had a vacancy so, for the 4th time this year, we enjoyed a couple of nights there.We'll be back next year!

Reviewer:John K | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Our stay 17-19 October 2016 - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay with you. A friendly welcome, the room was comfortable, breakfast excellent and evening meals very good.Only 2 suggestions - softer pillows and duvets instead of blankets would make a big difference.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul T | Sun 23rd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A gem - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had three relaxing days in the Wye Valley area staying at the Wye Valley Hotel and, having read the positive reviewers, we were not disappointed.There was a friendly atmosphere, a most comfortable room and generous portions of food of a high standard.Would we return?Absolutely.

Reviewer:Alister P | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A Wye Valley Gem - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had three relaxing days in the Wye Valley area staying at the Wye Valley Hotel and, having read the positive reviewers, we were not disappointed.There was a friendly atmosphere, a most comfortable room and generous portions of food of a high standard.Would we return?Absolutely.

Reviewer:Alister P | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A Wye Valley gem - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had three relaxing days in the Wye Valley area staying at the Wye Valley Hotel and, having read the positive reviews, we were not disappointed.There was a friendly atmosphere, a most comfortable room and generous portions of food of a high standard.Would we return?Absolutely.

Reviewer:Alister P | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed with husband and another couple for 3 nights. This is our second visit. Lovely hotel, very clean, food and drink excellent and superbly hosted by Barry and Sue. Nothing too much trouble for them and their local knowledge makes any stay all the better from walks in the area to tea shops in Monmouth. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Linda J | Sat 15th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Great location and food - Rating 5/5

As a tour operator It is a pleasure to work with The Wye Valley Hotel. This is our clients comments:"Great location - walking to the Abbey, other walks along the Wye -was excellent.Loved th Restaurant for excellent food and ambiance.Room was good."

Reviewer:Stephen H | Sat 15th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Chepstow races weekend - Rating 5/5

We all had a brilliant weekend, the hotel was great, fabulous location, lovely staff, fine food. No complaints, except one of our party thought the shower was a bit weak in room 2, I think, but it was probably peak time.GREAT!!!!

Reviewer:Michael N | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


One night stay while walking the Wye Valley - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfortable large and bright room, good dinner and plentiful breakfast, and very convenient stop over for the Wye Valley Walk. Everything you need for a good rest. Thank you!

Reviewer:Mr M B | Wed 5th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


wye valley hotel rreview - Rating 5/5

friendly,comfortable,exxcellent food

Reviewer:JULIA T | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable few days away - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed every minute ofour stay from the accomodation to the food to the politeness of all the team working with Barry and Sue and the beautiful countryside which was lovely thanks to everyone

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy H | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

We have just had a weekend break at the hotel, it was nice and clean and the food was very good.

Reviewer:Lynn H | Tue 27th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Good Sleep - Rating 5/5

Spent a weekend sleeping at the Hotel.Large room, and excellent bathroom.Clean tidy and everything in order.I did not eat at the hotel, except for breakfast which was fine.

Reviewer:John C | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


why? - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable, friendly, spacious en-suite room, excellent food (though the evening menu remained largely unchanged throughout our stay).We would hope to visit again if we were coming to this area.

Reviewer:Brian S | Sat 24th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Value for money, good food, friendly staff - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay. Food good &staff friendly. Room clean, but rather bland &mattress too hard &sloping. Bathroom needed updating eg shower.

Reviewer:David P | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Warm and friendly- Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel ran by warm and friendly staff who made my business trip a little less tedious, the food was excellent and top value for money..I will stay again..

Reviewer:Niall W | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


This why we keep going back! - Rating 5/5

It's clean, it's comfortable, the staff are very friendly, the food is excellent, the wine list is good, the beer is well kept and one of the best ales made just half a mile away! The Wye Valley Hotel is in a wonderful part of the world.These are the reasons we keep returning!

Reviewer:John K | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Would stay here again - Rating 5/5

Lovely, clean, comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting. We booked one night to break our journey to cornwall from manchester. Evening meal, bar snacks and breakfast very good.

Reviewer:Wendy W | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A totally fantastic place to stay,excellent food and plenty of it,cosy and clean rooms and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Sheila B | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovley stay - Rating 4/5

Hotel very nice in outstanding area very close to tintern Abby. Wonderful.

Reviewer:Lin G | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Relaxing Stay - Rating 4/5

We had a 2 night break and found the hotel quiet and relaxing. The staff were very helpful and the food very good. Missing a lounge for guest to relax in. Would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Julie D | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely hotel set in wonderful location - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome from Barry, nice room although TV so small that when sat in bed it could hardly be seen! otherwise fantastic.

Reviewer:Simon L | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Tintern visit - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay while visiting this area. Staff were very friendly &helpful and we really enjoyed relaxing in the evenings with their excellent pub meals.

Reviewer:Kathleen B | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Thoughts on - Rating 4/5

A well appointed hotel, excellent bar with superb selection of malts! Very spacious room, I will not say which one as we intend to stay again.Hot water was Hot! food enjoyable, pleasant staff and dog friendly hotel. Worth a stay

Reviewer:Robert Stewart S | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Wye Valley Value - Rating 5/5

Thank's to Barry and Sue for a lovely short break..Good food,good service,and very good hotel..Will definately be staying again.....

Reviewer:Vincent P | Thu 25th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Clean, friendly, beautiful location - Rating 4/5

Lovely clean room, friendly helpful staff, stunning location.

Reviewer:Jane H | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Holiday with young adult - Rating 4/5

Hosts were very helpful as were the staff. The space in the family suite was really appreciated

Reviewer:Ms. Caroline G | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A rare find, - Rating 5/5

The location of the WyeValley Hotel is idyllic and a great base for exploring the Monmouthshire area.Lovely rooms with ''best sleep ever' beds and amazing breakfasts and evening meals.Barry and Sue are great hosts always ready to help.

Reviewer:Sue T | Tue 16th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Happy weekend - Rating 3/5

Very friendly hotel in a beautiful location in the Wye valley. Although the room was small ,especially the bathroom it had everything we needed. Including fluffy towels and a wonderful views. Nothing was too much trouble .we had two evening meals which were excellent,especially the skate wings. Will stay there again at some time.

Reviewer:Eddie H | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Hope to see you next summer - Rating 5/5

This was the third time that we visited this accomidation and we are looking forwrd to our next visit

Reviewer:Silvy S | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A great place to stay in the Wye Valley - Rating 5/5

Barry and Sue are fine hosts and should be rightly proud of the Hotel and its service. We had a weekend break in Tintern and were lucky enough to be given the family room with a comfortable suite of rooms. This was great for relaxing after a hectic and active day out.The home-cooked food in the hotel is excellent and very reasonably priced for a tourist area. We did not need to look further afield to eat well in the evenings. The staff are friendly and helpful and you can appreciate the family-run atmosphere. The local scenery and attractions are brilliant for people of all ages. You do need to be able to walk for a bit though.Hint, if a beer drinker, try the locally brewed Kingstone ale!We will definitely return there if we can.

Reviewer:Alan P | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Good food, a pleasant room and a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Good food, a pleasant room and a warm welcome from helpful owners. All staff were polite, friendly and efficient. Situation is ideal for walks around Tintern and Chepstow.

Reviewer:Kenneth L | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely get away - Rating 4/5

Comfortable hotel with nice restaurant and friendly staff.Lovely location with walks, peaceful gift shop area and Abbey to visit.

Reviewer:Kelly H | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay at the Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 4/5

We had a short Break visiting friends.Had a great stay at the Wye Valley Hotel.Nice Atmosphere, Great Breakfast, Lovely Friendly stay.Recommended!

Reviewer:Malcolm J | Wed 27th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Short break in Tintern - Rating 5/5

This was a return visit to this hotel. Used as a base for speedway gp in Cardiff. Location perfect as a base for visiting many attractions in the areaa. A warm welcome from the frendly owners and staff. Will visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry M | Tue 12th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Family of three booked here on a whim.Wanted to explore wye valley and some castles of Wales.From the moment we stepped into the hotel we could not have asked for a better time!Room was great.Well appointed. Spacious. CLEAN!Food and drink were excellent. Homemade food and ice cold beer.Will stay here again with these fabulous hosts!!

Reviewer:Jamie C | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay &lovely welcome from friendly staff.Food was excellentMany thanks

Reviewer:Liz W | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Most enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

A very spacious room which had two armchairs and a comfy bed. We would have preferred a duvet rather than a blanket, but that is perhaps just a personal choice. The evening meal and breakfast were outstanding, using local produce and well presented. We were made to feel very welcome and would definitely book here again and have a longer stay to enjoy the area more.

Reviewer:Jan F | Sun 26th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, good food, very friendly,Great place to stay.

Reviewer:Pat C | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at the Wye Valley Hotel and found both the host and hostess very friendly.The rooms were very comfortable and the meals excellent.We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Selena O | Thu 23rd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Don\'t Miss a Visit Here! - Rating 5/5

This last stay was our third visit in 15 months which says it all we think! Very welcoming and accommodating hosts - thank you Sue &Barry, a very comfortable well appointed room ,excellent food andgenerally a great atmosphere. Lots to do in this beautiful part of the country.

Reviewer:Mr D | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Good find. - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room and great breakfast.

Reviewer:Joseph Graham H | Sat 18th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


A Traditional Village Hotel full of Character & Charm... - Rating 4/5

My husband and I stayed at The Wye Valley Hotel for 3 nights in May 2016. We had a very enjoyable time. We wanted explore the Wye Valley and this Hotel was in a great place to do that. We took along our two little Terriers who stayed in the room with us, we were all made very welcome by the Hotel staff who told us about places of interest to visit and local places to walk the dogs, along the river and up in the mountains, it was idilic!

Reviewer:Mrs Suzanne M | Tue 31st May 2016 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant hosts, good food selection, good quality ingredients, cooking, presentation, portion sizes and appropriately priced.Wine good and appropriately priced.Room for improvement;bathroom bin not emptied each day, Earl Grey tea not replenished.An enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. John D | Tue 10th May 2016 | 4 years ago


A great weekend in a tranquil place - Rating 5/5

From the moment we checked in everything was catered for from Barry and Sue who were fantastic hosts, the food was value for money and the room were clean and comfortable. Information on surrounding area from our hosts for walking was fanatastic. Will recommend and will return for a future stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy H | Mon 9th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Value for money - Rating 5/5

Undoubtedly value for money. Location is superb and very handy for Chepstow, Monmouth, the Wye valley and Tintern Abbey itself. Accommodation was e cel lent as were the facilities and food. Would definitely stay there again!

Reviewer:Ray H | Mon 9th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Staying at the hotel helped to make our short break in the Wye Valley memorable -for the right reasons!The hotel is beautifully placed and very comfortable,the food is excellent and the owners and staff are friendly and very obliging.Yes,excellent.

Reviewer:David M | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 4 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you once again for a wonderful time in Tintern. Comfortable room, excellent food and hosts. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert H | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 4 years ago


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel and fantastic hosts. The food was really nice at all times and we really enjoyed our short break in the fantastic Wye Valley

Reviewer:Mr. Rob R | Sat 23rd Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We were in the area for a relations birthday weekend.The hotel was very welcoming and our room comfortable and clean.We had dinner there one night and the meal was delicious and the ambiance warm and friendly.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan M | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


The Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

We were attending a big birthday party near Tintern Abbey and so wanted to be close by. The Wye Valley hotel was just the job.Lovely cosy bar, spacious comfortable rooms and Barry and Sue were very helpful and friendly hosts. Breakfast was first class, quick service , freshly cooked and delicious.Would definitely come back.Thank you - we had a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Michael T | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Short break in April,2016 - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room. Excellent food. Warm and welcoming hosts.

Reviewer:Mr David G | Sun 17th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


We\'ll be back. - Rating 5/5

As always very clean. Everyone are always ready to help. Food is good and served with a smile. Been here several times. Excellent staff.

Reviewer:Patrick J | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Short Break with Dog - Rating 3/5

On arrival at the hotel all of us, especially Ralph the dog received a warm welcome. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Roaring fire in the bar was a great place to relax over a drink or have a meal. Breakfasts freshly cooked to order. An enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Fiona C | Sun 10th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Always a warm welcome. - Rating 5/5

Been stayiñg at the Wye Valley Hotel regularly on our way to sons in Plymouth and on the return. Great menu, large portions. Well stocked bar with nice selection of beerd etc. Rooms very clean. Sue and Barry great hosts.

Reviewer:Geoff S | Fri 8th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


A couple of days in the Wye Valley.- Rating 5/5

Delightful stay. A very 'English' hotel with old fashioned courtesy. Our second stay and hopefully not our last.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Thu 7th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Excellent family hotel - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, good food, cozy atmosphere, really comfortable, and located in a really beautiful spot. ... what else can you look for?

Reviewer:Gonzalo Martin De M | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


A lovley stay - Rating 4/5

My wife and myself had a very good stay, the people, the hotel, the room was very good, the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was very nice too, The bedroom room large and clean, with the added bonus of a sitting room which was an unexpected surprise, good parking, an excellent base for exploring the area.

Reviewer:Andrew W | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Great Place - Rating 5/5

2nd time I have stayed and it is always a joy. Friendly welcoming staff, particularly Frank the owners dog. Great Food, great location.

Reviewer:B | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcome, excellent service and home cooking. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. R B | Wed 9th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


excellent stay / hosts / location - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend, at the Wye Valley Hotel.A very cosy / comfortable hotel, ideally placed for Chepstow Races ( 10 mins ) and the lovely surrounding villages of Tintern.Barry and Sue are excellent hosts and are always on hand to help with ideas and offer a warm welcome from behind the bar.We will definitely be returning

Reviewer:Steve G | Tue 1st Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Stay at Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

Really welcoming, food delicious and room very comfortable, would stay there again

Reviewer:Mr. Paul M | Sun 21st Feb 2016 | 4 years ago


Wonderful country hotel - Rating 5/5

What a great place to stay in a lovely setting.The hosts could not have been more friendly or helpful.Clean rooms, good food.

Reviewer:Mr. Samuel O | Mon 4th Jan 2016 | 4 years ago


Pleasant stay. - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome with good real ale. Cosy bar area with interesting bottles. Delicious generous evening meal of scampi with homemade chips. Comfy bright bedroom with everything we needed. Good hot breakfast with everything we wanted,lots of coffee, toast,and attentive service.Would love to stay here again in the beautiful Wye Valley.

Reviewer:Alison H | Tue 24th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect place to stay. - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our stay, food was excellent and the room was light, airy and very comfortable. Small problem with the shower but our fault as we forgot to mention it.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Thu 12th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Home from home - Rating 4/5

Arrived in the rain, made welcome in the bar and then shown our room.Most comfortable, everything we needed in bathroom.Dinner was very nice, cheerfully served, breakfast most substantial.Left in bright sunshine.Will certainly come again

Reviewer:Leslie J | Mon 26th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Wye valley hotel - Rating 4/5

A lovely welcome on arrival and a very friendly atmosphere during our stay.We would certainly stay here again

Reviewer:Langdon W | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


bon séjour - Rating 5/5

grande chambre, au calme, accueil sympathique, rien à redire

Reviewer:GILBERT S | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent short break Wye Valley venue - Rating 5/5

Friendly family run hotel.Very clean &comfortable. Excellent food.Good value and excellent location.

Reviewer:Edward G | Sat 15th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed overnight during a business trip. Excellent hotel, good food and wonderful location. Look forward to my next visit.

Reviewer:Dave C | Fri 14th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Ideal base for walkers - Rating 4/5

Large, comfortable room. Friendly, family-run inn with good breakfast and evening menu. A great base for walking in the Wye Valley;our hosts were happy to advise us about local walks and to lend guide books.

Reviewer:Yvette W | Sun 2nd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely place in beautiful valley - Rating 4/5

Overall it was an excellent stay - small things like a poor shower spoilt a good room. We had great weather and with windows open outside noise was very noticeable. Ideal for the beautiful valley. Breakfast excellent and the shortbread biscuits in our room were wonderful! The Cookes and staff were friendly and always pleasant.(Booking through an on-line agent noticed we'd unfortunately paid over the odds - always find the hotel's own site in future!)

Reviewer:Pauline D | Wed 1st Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Great stopover - Rating 3/5

Friendly welcome, great setting by the river.Dinner in the bar was excellent and room spacious clean and tidy.Everything I needed after long journey.

Reviewer:Ian M | Sat 27th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Great Tourist Hotel - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and conveniently situated for touring the beautiful Wye Valley, good bar and restaurant

Reviewer:Graeme K | Sun 21st Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


The Wye Valley Hotel. - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Wye Valley Hotel on several occasions to break our journey to Plymouth or returning home. Sue and Barry make you feel most welcome and are very accommodating as I am disabled. The rooms are immaculate and the food, both lunch and evening is really good with a varied selection to choose from and plenty of it. All cooked to order. Lovey bar with a wide selection of drinks to suit all tastes. Will be staying there again without doubt.

Reviewer:Geoff S | Sat 20th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


relaxing,friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

Clean,comfortable room. Food excellent price/quality ratio good. Only niggle handheld shower on bath was very difficult to balance hot/cold flow.Hosts were very warm and friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Mr. Peter D | Wed 17th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Very good food and drink - Rating 4/5

We have been using Barry &Sue's hospitality since they took over The Wye Valley and before. The standard and cleanliness of rooms has gone up although the original brown doors and some furniture dated. Sue's"home"cooked food is varied, plentiful and yummy. There is always a Welcome on our return trips, bar used by locals and visitors and is stocked very well. Good value for money in this beautiful part of the country!

Reviewer:Peter & Peggy H | Tue 2nd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


JOG TO LE STAY - Rating 5/5

Great stay here after a long day's ride on our bicycle trip from John O'Groats to Lands End. Very welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. Excellent service all round. Comfortable room.

Reviewer:Geoff H | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Great hosts, nice hotel - Rating 5/5

Have just come back from a week-end break, cannot compliment the hotel enough. The room was a good size and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a reasonable choice. Had a couple of meals in the evening and was very pleased with the choice and food. The hosts were excellent and nothing seems to much trouble for them. Would definitely go back again and would happily recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Paul A | Wed 27th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Little gem on the Wye - Rating 5/5

The Wve valley hotel is an excellent stopping off point if staying in Tintern.Barry and Sue always give a warm greeting, rooms are comfy and clean and the food is really good value for money and of a high standard and a good selection on the menu.if you are bringing your canine friend, they are made welcome, if i am passing the Wye valley , i always pop in whether staying or just for a drink and meal

Reviewer:Paul J | Tue 26th May 2015 | 5 years ago


One night stay - Rating 3/5

Helpful people - pleasant room, wonderful Sunday lunch

Reviewer:Norma P | Mon 25th May 2015 | 5 years ago


great food. - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay, hosts very welcoming.Had two evening meals, the homemade beef guiness pie was delicious.Breakfast excellent, the only reason I have given 4 stars is that I would have prefered a little background music in the morning as it was so quiet people were whispering and all you could hear was the sound of crunching toast. Comfortable, clean room, with large bathroom, perfect place to stay in Tintern andI wouldrecommend the hotel to anyone.

Reviewer:Barbara S | Sun 17th May 2015 | 5 years ago


comfortable - Rating 4/5

The hotel was friendly, comfortable, the staff couldn't do enough for you. The stairs are a bit steep, but We will be going back, highly recommend.

Reviewer:Richard B | Sat 16th May 2015 | 5 years ago


Most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We spent one night at The Wye Valley Hotel and found it excellent. The management were both helpful and welcoming.The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in for some time.

Reviewer:John P | Wed 13th May 2015 | 5 years ago


walking weekend at Wye Valley Hotel - Rating 5/5

just back from a lovely long weekend at the Wye Valley.David, Susan and Grace looked after us very well - told us the best walks, kept the restaurant open late .. like staying with family. Good food, especially Susan's rhubarb crumble.First time in the area, breathtaking scenery and brilliant walks along the Wye and in the hills and woods, our dog has made us promise to go back soon.

Reviewer:Barry G | Tue 5th May 2015 | 5 years ago


Nice \'n Easy - Rating 4/5

From the moment we arrived we just relaxed - everything seemed to be taken care of. Welcoming, plenty advice and info on tap, dogs welcomed, the most wonderful location, and the best part:the food.

Reviewer:Leone F | Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


Business Trip S wales - Rating 4/5

I have stayed here a number of times in the past 5 years. Always a good welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Barry and Sue are very friendly hosts and the food is excellent. I enjoy the real ale which is always on good form. Rooms are a little dated but who cares when you wake up to beautiful Tintern!I will be back. Ken

Reviewer:Ken L | Thu 23rd Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


Great hotel - Rating 4/5

Pleasant hotel with very friendly hosts. We were made very welcome by Brian &Sue, &the food was great. Lovely room with everything we needed. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Angela B | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


wye valley- Rating 4/5

During our two - night stay we enjoyed good hospitality. Our hosts made us feel welcome immediately. The room was light, airy and comfortable. The meals were excellent and the Bar was welcoming. Unfortunately the shower in the bathroom was not hands - free making ablutions a chore. For this reason only 4 stars.

Reviewer:Joseph M | Sat 18th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


Wye you should stay here - Rating 4/5

Food, beer &rooms excellent. Very friendly staff &owners. Pretty village with delightful though ruined abbey

Reviewer:Peter C | Tue 14th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


nice and welcome hotel - Rating 5/5

nice host and hotel nothing at all what i dont like would stay again

Reviewer:Daiva U | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 4/5

Large, comfortable room. Character building with excellent food and breakfast. Perfect location for exploring the Wye valley and Tintern.

Reviewer:Denis R | Mon 30th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Why Wye Valley Hotel? - Rating 5/5

Because it's an excellent place to stay for either an overnight stop like ours or for longer stays to explore the area, and this at anytime of the year. A very warm welcome, even for our 6 month old Labrador, comfortable, spacious room and good food and drink at the bar.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs R | Sat 21st Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Excellent small hotel - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming management and superb food made our stay a very enjoyable experience, Will definately stay again

Reviewer:Steve B | Thu 12th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Our second home!! - Rating 5/5

Love coming to The Wye Valley hotel. Excellent breakfast, lovely cosy bar with a variety of beverages available and delicious home cooked meals. Airy, comfy clean rooms. Barry &Sue can never do enough for you. A great base to explore the beautiful Wye Valley from. Our second home!!

Reviewer:Dave & Lisa H | Wed 25th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Perfect location to stay for w/e visit to the races, being only approx. 4.5 miles away from the racecourse, in a beautiful area. Nothing to fault, room/food/hospitality all excellent ! Will be staying again.

Reviewer:Peter R | Mon 23rd Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


20th-22nd February 2015 - Rating 5/5

Awesome stay. Food was amazing as was the service. A great weekend. Couldn't recommend the Wye Valley Hotel highly enough.

Reviewer:Chas M | Sun 22nd Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


The place to stay in the Wye Valley - Rating 5/5

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is very clean and comfortable, in fact the bed was the most comfortable of any I've slept in, in any of the hotels I,ve stayed. The hosts are really nice and friendly, and the food is yummy! This hotel is real value for money and well worth trying.

Reviewer:Wendy G | Sun 22nd Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

Only stayed the one night but really great hotelHome cooked proper food that was excellentRooms are very good aswell clean spacious couldn't complain at all

Reviewer:Des E | Sat 7th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Good weekend again- Rating 4/5

Just had a 2 night stay at The Wye Valley Hotel.This is our second visit here.The owners Barry and Sue make you very welcome.Rooms are very comfortable and the food is good. Lovely walks nearby

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances C | Tue 3rd Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Excellent small hotel, stunning location - Rating 5/5

Stayed here several time over last year whilst working near by. The Wye Valley is a stunning place to visit. The hotel is very clean and well run. Owners and staff very friendly, the food is extremely good. For a peaceful, comfortable place to stay with good food and service I would highly recommend this hotel.We will be returning as soon as possible.

Reviewer:Dave C | Thu 29th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


new yearseve break - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous break at the wye valley hotel. Owners barry and sue were very hospitable and made us feel at home. Had a lovely evening meal and breakfast the next morning.Slept well and would be happy to return to the hotel again.

Reviewer:Michelle H | Sat 3rd Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Hotel is in an excellent location.Warm welcome, comfortable room.Excellent food with dietary requirements (gluten-free) no problem.Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Graham B | Sat 20th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Book Online